Alternators, Batteries and Breakers

NorCalSteve

I have added a computer to my Hawk camper, which gathers camper data. Every 5 minutes it records inside temp, outside temp, refrigerator temp, freezer temp, HW heater temp, refrigerator condenser temp, and battery voltage. I also put a GPS up in the fan area and gather location and speed data as well. I do have the solar panel option. This was a good decision for me.

While on my last adventure from Northern California to Texas and other places, I started getting low on Propane. Since I am still learning how long I can go on a tank of propane, I started getting nervous and decided to switch the refrigerator to DC for a day of driving, which I did a while before leaving the campsite. As I was driving down the road, I realized that the graph of my DC power showed the battery voltage jumping from about 12 volts to about 11.5 volts. This occurred about 6 times in a two hour period. It "seems like", after the battery charged a little, this cycling went away. The voltage measurement is taken pretty much at the refrigerator and not at the battery. More on that later. My "guess" is that the breaker under the hood of the truck for the camper must have been tripping. After the batteries in the camper charged some, it stopped tripping and things were fine. If I learn more about this, I will post it. For now, I will make sure the batteries are charged before I put the refrigerator on DC and add another 12 amps or more to the pull on the alternator. If the breaker is cycling, I figure this is not a good thing. It was also a warm day so the breaker was probably pretty warm under the hood. If I see this happening again, I plan to jumper the breaker long enough to see if it goes away by doing that.