Dead truck batteries

Bdold

Advanced Member
I'm not an electrical engineer.

The truck- 2003- Ram 2500- Diesel - 2 batteries 875CCA- each

Recently, my truck has had a few "slow" starts. This morning it was dead. I had not run it for 13 days.

Some things I did this summer:
I installed a solar system. 85 watt panel, with a charge controller. I cannot image the solar panel would cause me any issues.

I replaced the battery separator due to a recall. Today, I put the charger on one of the batteries and took the dog for a walk. An hour later, I put my hand on the battery separator and noticed it was warm. I used my volt meter and checked the green ground wire( red lead) and the black lead was placed on the negative side of the battery. I was getting 12.6? volts. I checked all three prongs on the back of the battery separator and they had the same voltage. When replacing it this summer, I connected this as a ground like it was installed in 2010.

Also, this summer, I hooked up my fog lights with a Bosch relay. I originally found a power slot in the fuse box that was hot all the time. This was annoying, in that, I would sometimes leave the lights on when exiting the truck. I never did this for a long period of time.. maybe a minute or two. A few weeks ago, I found a slot that was only hot, while the ignition was on. So, now when I would leave fog lights on, after shutting the truck off, the lights would go off because circuit was broken. Or was it? Could the relay still be drawing enough current even though the lights were not on? And could it drain 2 batteries in 13 days? I am positive the fog light switch was on the entire 13 days.

Currently I removed the battery separator and I have connected all the batteries, to the camper, as I was told to after I sent the recalled unit back to the manufacturer. I'm leaving to go hunt tomorrow and really want the Grandby.