Emergency/Comm Radio Solo Camping

I do a fair amount of solo remote camping in the desert where
I simply cannot walk out if I have a problem. Just turned 61.
I'm interested in a comm/recieve radio for use in an emergency.
Something other 4 wheeler campers might have out there to hear my call.
Something with scan so I can hear where others might be.
Comm to airplanes.
I used to be a pilot so I do have that experience, also I used to have
a CB.
Thanks in advance for your comments.
I go out to Panamint, Death, Saline Valleys, etc. in the Mojave and
always exploring new remote places. Just got back from camping
atop Mengel Pass next to Carl's resting place.
Please don't tell me I'm crazy, I already know that, I believe in being
absolutely as prepared as possible.
Also interested in GPS off the grid info.

Well a handheld aircraft radio is one possibility, not sure of the legality but I don't think that would matter in the case of a true emergency. The other choices that I use are a Spot tracker and a PLB. The Spot costs $100 a year but gives you the option of sending out OK messages to friends/family, a Help message if you are stuck or broke down, as well as an SOS including your GPS location in an emergency. The PLB has no annual cost but is strictly for emergency use. It will transmit your location to a satellite and emergency personel will respond. I have both because my wife and I do whitewater raft trips by ourselves and I want both of us to be able to summon help if we are seperated. I also like having a backup if one system is nonfunctional.

BillM said: