Ford Camper Package?

SDJeff

I am a newbie who recently purchased a 2006 Hawk and am in the process of purchasing a truck to put it on. After much research and input from this forum (including reading old threads) I decided to go 3/4 ton and am considering pulling the trigger on a 2011 Ford F-250. I did not want to push payload capacity, especially since my girlfriend and I may bring lots of gear on some trips, including kayaks and I already have mods like rack, solar etc. I calculate at most we should have aprox 1700 lbs payload on our heaviest trips (including us), well within the F-250's payload range (aprox 2700lbs for my configuration with a "max" of 3970. My Hawk would be dedicated full time on this truck and I don't intend to ever tow. I would be also going off-road a lot.

Ford offers a "camper package" that is very cheap. It includes beefier springs, rear sway bar and a "camper certification". Ford also has an info sheet for "slide-in campers". At first, I thought I would just get the package b/c it is cheap, but it has been very hard to find the package combined with the offroad package on a supercab with short wheel base. Also, I am wondering if it is overkill, whether Ford really requires it and whether or not there might be insurance or other consequences might exist if it didn't get it. I know the info sheet/certification are CYA for Ford, but they seem to indicate you must have the "consumer information sheet" in your glovebox or else your truck doesn't "qualify" for a slide in camper. If not a "slide in" camper is "not recommended". I also get that payload is not monolithic and where it is placed creates center of gravity and other issues which the notice seems to focus on.

I know there was some prior discussions of similar issues that I think were brought up re Dodge from what I could find on the old threads. However, I am wondering about the following: