Hawk Solar and Enhanced Battery Charging System

Marco Cecala

Hawk Solar and Enhanced Battery Charging System

I need to thank countless members I learned from while working on my electrical system for our 2013 Hawk. I will do a post in the future regarding what we ordered for the camper and what we wish we ordered from the factory. There has been substantial interest in solar and charging systems so I would like to address those now. This is my experience; I’m no expert and might have a lot of things wrong. YMMV
Solar; We had the factory install 2-100 watt solar panels from Global Solar. They are direct glue and provide good power in all types of light conditions.
image002.jpg

The power was going through the Global Solar charge controller. Research showed me the batteries were not getting enough charging power. The Global Solar controller did not have a setting for AGM batteries. I installed a Morningstar MPPT Charge Controller with a remote meter I put in the place of the Global Solar unit. I made a metal plate and painted it with hammer finish paint.
image004.jpgimage006.jpg

Simply put, AGM Batteries need more power. Word around the campfire is because the charge has to get through the glass mats, they create resistance.
Batteries; We ordered 2 group 27 Deep Cycle batteries. The unit came with Exide batteries. Good for a surge of voltage to start a vehicle, not what we may need. I replaced them with Sun Extender batteries. The battery is meant for long term low amperage drain, kind of like you get when running the refrigerator. They are great and made a bunch of difference. In all fairness, the Exide’s were never properly charged and I feel they are now compromised.

image007.jpg