Hawk vs Grandby

SDJeff

Hello,

I am a newbie who decided to stop lurking, get some info and buy a FWC. I am really excited and appreciate the great information I am finding here.

I am trying to decide between a hawk n a grandly. My plan is to put the camper on a 05 or 06 Tundra which I would purchase. I don't anticipate needing to tow. I do go off road a lot - I live for visiting remote places! I would like the extra room of a grandby (and I suspect my girlfriend would even more), especially bc I could get a bed configuration to allow us to sleep parallel with the truck (I think this will be big with her). However, the hawk seems like a better fit for the truck. Questions: 1) How big of a deal would center of gravity issues really be with a long bed camper on a tundra? I know some people say it is ok. Has anyone tried it and felt that it was a problem? Does anybody have experience with both a hawk and grandby to give me an idea what the difference would really be? 2) What suspension mods would I need w/the grandby compared to the hawk? Are air bags alone enough? 3) I don't care about the tailgate getting dirty (one concern I saw mentioned) but do people encounter problems with turning radius or the gate/camper hitting when offroad with a grandby on a shortbed? 4) Is it any better if I got an access cab vs a double cab? 5) Anything else I should be concerned about?

Please excuse me if this is redundant with past threads, but I wanted to hear peoples most recent experience and didn't find all these exact questions on past threads. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Jeff

Welcome,
Just my 2 cents but even the Hawk is gong to tax the Toyota's suspension on rough roads. If you've been reading you see that even the guys with Ford & Chevy half tons have done suspension mods. And a few are pretty extensive.
Good luck.

The Tundra/Hawk is a very popular combo.