Toronto-Hood River-Anchorage-Vancounver Island

Gormley Green

Contributors
So, time to move out of Toronto where I've spent my whole life. As a consulting geologist, I'm pretty free to move wherever - as I always get flown to work. My girlfriend quit her job and we're hitting the road. ETD is first week of May (I'm hoping May 3).

We have a wedding to attend in Hood River May 28th, but will be taking our time getting out there, thinking of going nearish to the I-90 along the way and pulling off to see things (like Mt. Rushmore, etc...) and I'm really keen to see Yellowstone. Never been, always wanted to.

After that, I drop her off in Vancouver and continue north to Girdwood, AK (near Anch.) to see friends and go on a motorcycle trip to Dawson City, YT and up the Dempster Hwy.

I'm pulling a 5x8 enclosed trailer behind my truck with motorcycle and gear, clothes (suit for the wedding :p ), etc.

We're pretty excited! I'll throw some pics up as we go and look forward to hearing any suggestions or maybe meeting some WTWers on the road. We haven't started yet really, but we'll be blogging away at www.rockboy.ca

Thanks for all the advice on here so far! Looking forward to moving out of my condo and into my camper, life is going to get a lot simpler real soon!

Dawson City is great. Lots and lots of history. I remember the graveyards mostly, they really tell a story about how hard things were back in the day.

Oh! Congratulations by the way :thumb:

Be safe on your long journey.

Tom

Thanks all. The road miles in the truck, including back down to Vancouver Island where we're going to establish ourselves in the fall will be ~12,000km. The motorcycle trip should be ~3,000km. If all goes according to plan, and my eyes don't explode from too much looking around, I'm going to enjoy the summer!