Exploring Mono/Inyo May 14-20th

CarlG

Advanced Member
A group of six of us explored some of the hot springs, high valleys, ghost towns, abandoned mines, and all around amazing views in Mono and Inyo counties between May 14th and 20th. We traveled in two 80-series Land Cruisers and tent camped.

Although I am somewhat new to WTW, this trip is the third annual trip for this group. The previous two years followed a totally different route, so it was our first time in this area. Our general M.O. is to do some fun wheeling that takes us to spectacular dispersed camping spots.

I used the incomparable caltopo.com to do the route planning, and we navigated primarily using the Android app Backcountry Navigator, which I have been using with great success for a few years now. A map of our route (excluding paved sections on 395) can be found here:

http://caltopo.com/m/0AT0

As this trip report is rapidly becoming tardy, I thought I'd take it one day at a time.

This is a familiar haunt for us, and we picked it because it seemed like a good jumping off point for the rest of the trip.

day1 airingdown (Small).jpg
We aired down when we got to the dirt. This was a first for us, as we haven't carried a compressor in the past. What an amazing difference!

day1 carson river (Small).jpg
Our dreams of soaking in the tub were dashed as soon as we saw the river. It was high and running extremely fast. We thought we'd at least be able to swim across, but no way - it was really moving. In hindsight, this should have been obvious! Oops. Oh well, we enjoyed the camping anyhow, as we watched the rafters soak with envy.

day1 trucks (Small).jpg
Our faithful steeds.

day1 camp (Small).jpg
There was plenty of firewood to gather, and we had a nice time. Dinner was foil wrapped hot sandwiches in the coals.

Days 2-6 to come! By the way - is there a better way to do the pix? 500k max is going to really hurt when I actually get to the good parts! (It's all up now!)

** Updates **