Roof Repair

Lighthawk

Weekend warrior
Well, it didn't take long for me to abuse my new 2008 Hawk, but that's another story.
Leave it to say, I let my roof rack beat a 3" x 6" hole in my roof while driving an extremely rough road.

I'm a contractor and can just about fix anything (or think I can). So when I had to patch my roof I applied a lot of the same technology I use in my residential construction experience. I took photos of the work and thought I would share my experience with the crew that visits this site.

First step: Locate materials
Lucky for me, I live an hour away from FWC in Woodland. I visited the shop and Terry was very helpful. I was given a tour of the factory and was very impressed with their attention to detail. It's very clean and organized. I was there to buy a scrap (given free) of roof material, which is textured aluminum siding, and some sealant. They recommended a product called Silaprene (Royal Adhesive & Sealants 800-999-4583). The tube cost $9.99 BTW, a new roof skin, done by the factory was $575 I think

Second step: Define the work area
The roof damage was jagged, so I got out the snips and squared off the hole.
I took a file to remove the burrs and also sanded the area surrounding the hole to get better stick-tion (a tech term in the trades).
Note: I've masked off the perimeter of the work area. That's the Yakima roof rack next to the hole.
After thinking about it, I left the rack rail in place, but cleaned out the caulking to make a channel to tuck the new roof metal into.

Third Step: The Big Band-aid
FWC recommended riveting the roof metal over the hole, and using the Silaprene beneath and on top as a sealant. I wanted more than one level of waterproofing, so I went into my construction shed and found a roll of Fortiflash.