Atl-atl's 1981 Hawk 'documentation' thread

Atl-atl

Advanced Member
Hi all. I just joined wtw because it seems like the busiest and best place to post and learn about campers. I'm completely new to this world but got a smoking deal on an old FWC Hawk this summer and I've decided to do a pretty significant rebuild. I joined some other sites as well over the last couple months so you may recognize this thread as it will mirror some others I've started.

For no good reason a couple months ago I decided I wanted to buy a slide in camper for my truck instead of spending the money on a new tent. I have a Dodge Ram 2500HD regular cab long bed that I wheel on the trails around Colorado and I thought it would be really cool to have a camper instead of a tent when I go out on adventures in the mountains. I started scouring CL and quickly realized these things sell like hotcakes. It took me about a month of searching to find my Hawk. I had to drop everything and drive to give the guy cash the day it was posted or it would have been gone.

When I got to the guys house to see the Hawk for the first time it was dirty, messy inside and had obviously been stored for a while but it was in pretty good shape. He seemed like a trustworthy guy so I gave him the cash and had to leave for work without the camper. A few days passed before I could get it home and really dig in to see what I got myself into. Here are the pictures he sent me. Unfortunately the Ford Highboy was a project I couldn't take on at the moment!

For some reason the thread wont let me copy and paste so I have to type out each url for pictures to load. Ill try to edit with the rest of the pictures after I start the initial thread.

20308657439_9445a9b6b2_z.jpg

20469102046_f18356360e_b.jpg

20486535912_3ca2c7900a_b.jpg

20308657439_9445a9b6b2_b.jpg

20486535932_d040fc3838_b.jpg

20308656079_4f44377e15_b.jpg

20469103396_eca5565ae2_b.jpg

19878645163_767dffc27e_b.jpg