Edgestar Portable Fridge / Freezer - 43 Qt. 447.00

ouzel

New guy here with a heads-up on a pretty good price for a EdgeStar Portable Fridge / Freezer - 43 Qt. $447.00 which includes shipping. Mine should be arriving tomorrow. I will keep you posted.

http://cgi.ebay.com/FP430-EdgeStar-Portable-Fridge-Freezer-43-Qt_W0QQitemZ110426852525QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item19b5f40cad&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

ouzel

Ouzel,

I'd love to hear your first impressions on this. I have been kicking the idea around for a few months. With winter about here, I'll probably just wait on it, but am interested in your review of the chiller, as well as your location in the truck or camper.

Go to Expidition Portal site and punch in Edgestar some great info. I have been looking into getting one and I have yet to read about any negative stuff on them. Power draw seems right in line and uses an old style swing compressor.

The other Edgestar thread reinforces what I am about to claim about Mr. ouzel...

You are a troll.

:mad:

Without saying so, I had that impression also. It's odd for a persons first post in a forum to be one that is promoting a product. The capt will have to drop the hammer.

Go to Expidition Portal site and punch in Edgestar some great info. I have been looking into getting one and I have yet to read about any negative stuff on them. Power draw seems right in line and uses an old style swing compressor.

Thanks, Bat. Here is the EP Edgestar thread: link

The OP is dated 02-feb-09 so clearly there is no long term reliability data available. Plenty of niggling problems with 12v plugs, wires, and internal spade connectors are reported. No catastrophic failures were reported during the seven month interval of the thread.

Currently the 43 qt freezer is priced at $494.10 on the Compact Appliance website.