February in Montana

windy

Driving to Iowa from Washington (I-90) to pick up my new camper. Looking for cool places to do some mild XC skiing /camping on the return trip. This will be my 1st time in Montana. Always wanted to go but never came
To fruition until now.

Sent from my iPhone using Wander The West

Spend most of the year in Big Sky, just north of West Yellowstone, MT.
Lots of great places in and around jellystone to slide around on sticks. Most years, I camp over near Gardner, a couple of times each winter. Have a great time, take it easy driving. Lots of critters.
w

Thanks. Will do.

I'm not an XC skier, nor am I a winter camper, but I am a veteran of many a trip to Montana over the last 41 years. With your primarily I-90 based out-and-back trip to Washington from Iowa in mind, the following may be worth looking in to:

Chief Joseph Pass/Lost Trail Pass: South of Missoula, US 93 crosses Lost Trail pass at the MT-ID border, and Chief Joseph Pass is in the immediate vicinity. An XC trail system more or less follows the Continental Divide Trail and the Gordon Reese Cabin is more or less between the two passes. Whatever the exact configuration of the trails and cabin systems, there is reportedly an abundance of XC skiing and some ski-access only cabins in the area. Lost Trail Pass is the location of a small downhill ski area and in these parts of MT and ID many small ski areas allow dry camping in their parking lots.

As you head towards home from Lost Trail Pass, you'd pass into the Big Hole Valley along MT 43. Taking MT 278 to the south from Wisdom, MT takes you through Jackson ,home of the Jackson Hot Springs Resort--a nice motel/cabins/restaurant/bar which is pretty much the only act in the town of Jackson. The hot spring waters are piped into an outdoor pool and use of the pool normally comes with booking a room or a camping spot.