Flatbed Bolts, How Tight?

wicked1

I checked the bolts on my camper, and none were free spinning, but they were all equally loose. I didn't really have a wrench big enough to tighten them, and had some other work to do on my truck, so got a BIG socket wrench. (A flatbed to frame bolt was cracked off, and a few other bolts loose).

With this wrench, I am able to tighten these too much! The first one, I wasn't really paying attention and just kept turning the thing, w/out much effort.. Then noticed the aluminum plate the bolt goes through was warping! So, I guess tight enough! The others, all loose enough for me to turn w/out any effort w/ my about two foot long socket wrench. I don't want to break anything. I was expecting to turn these until I couldn't turn them anymore.. But w/ this big tool, I guess I could pull the bolt right through the aluminum bed frame!

I'm new to large engineering and repair.. (I'm an EE, so lifetime of building and repairing small things, but I was never really in to vehicles until now)

I assume this is a FWC? One of the reasons I didn’t buy a FWC flatbed is the attachment method. Trying to line up 4 bolts to keep that camper secure is, in IMHO, ridiculous.

I purchased a Bundutec and it’s mounted on an aluminum flatbed. Mine is attached using Fastguns that use the jack brackets of the camper(probably it’s strongest point) and run them directly to the flatbed. In 60,000 miles, much of it off-road, I’ve never had an issue of it moving. I can easily remove and install the camper when needed. It might be a solution and I have attached a picture to show how it works. I can take more photos if needed.

C3FA4CFF-D8D1-4528-A87A-F8DCDC11FC8F.jpeg