Fridge runs in "off" position

Tailfins

Advanced Member
At least I think it's running. The fan runs on the outside of the camper, and I think it starts to get a little colder inside.

I'm new to this, haven't actually had the camper out yet. It's in my garage getting a new window, sink, and some minor surgery to make it fit my GM-type cargo bed. While working, I plug in the AC so I can have light inside. The last few times I've done this the Norcold 3-way refrigerator runs, even with the switch in the off position. The only way I can get it to stop running is to unplug the shore power.

Is this normal? I'm wondering if the fridge is merely trying to "start up," that is, get down to operation temperature--that maybe it's an automatic function independent of the operating controls on the front panel.

I have the owner's manual, such as it is, but there's nothing in it that helps.

I've had several RV refers, and none of mine had a fan.
If it's not shown in your user's manual, it must have been added by the previous owner.

Can you describe where the fan is located, and what it seems to be doing?

It's a small black fan made by Mechantronics, like those used in older computer towers. It's black, about 6" wide, and is blowing air to the outside of the camper. Since the upper panel of the two panels behind the fridge is screwed shut, I can't readily access it, but I can see it by looking through the louvers with a flashlight.

Just to eliminate things, I checked all the camper's fuses and circuit breakers, and tried unplugging the AC and turning on the battery power. Same thing happens on either AC or 12V.

Could this have happened because I pushed the two red buttons on the front panel? Was just fiddling around. I'm thinking some kind of safety ventilation, but the propane has been firmly shut off at both valves since I've had the camper.