GPS for your iPad - Garmin GLO

jha6av8r

I've seen several threads on WTW and other forums about GPS units for iPad and Android devices. The two usually mentioned are the Dual and Bad Elf. After reading reviews, I decided to get a Garmin GLO. It uses both the U.S. GPS system and the Russian GLONASS system. Tried it out this weekend on the west side of the Sierras around Shaver Lake and like it a lot. Used it with MyTopo Maps and it was very accurate. Satellite sync was faster than any GPS I've used. Connected easily via Bluetooth to my iPad. Seems to have a good battery life. Came with a nice non skid dash pad. A nice simple system that worked as advertised. If you are looking for a GPS, you should check it out.

http://www.sportys.com/PilotShop/product/17435

I am a total newbe when it comes to GPS for iPad, but I do hope to get an iPad at some point.

How does this work differently than the GPS that is in the iPad? What maps does this system use?

Thanks. Sorry for questions from the 90's.

The wi-fi only iPad doesn't have GPS. The 3G & cellular iPad does kind of. Also GPS by definition is the U.S. system only, 24 satellites. The GLONASS system has another 21. The 3G & cellular iPad don't use true GPS but Assisted GPS which needs a cellular connection to increase accuracy and speed. Without cell coverage, it is very slow and not completely reliable.

To overcome theses shortcomings a real GPS receiver is needed. I'm most familiar using a GPS in aviation. The Garmin GLO to me seemed to have better reviews than the other two receivers commonly used, the Dual and Bad Elf both only use the U.S. GPS system. So far me the Garmin GLO is a true receiver and uses twice as many satellites which should improve its accuracy and reliability when out in the middle of no where.