Making a Ranger 2 Lighter

JAS123

Hi Folks. This is my first time posting on WTW. I recently bought a Ranger 2 to put on my 98 4x4 tacoma. I bought the camper while visiting family in California although I currently live in Utah in a small town near Capital Reef National Park called Torrey (some of you wanderers might be familiar with the location).
My question revolves around the weight of these campers and specifically how to make mine weigh less. The camper right now weighs about 750 lbs empty and without jacks. This is without any accessories (furnace, stove, sink). Basically a shell model with a counter top, a few shelves, and the couch area. So fully loaded (lets say for a surf trip to Baja….it just got really cold here so I am dreaming) I am concerned that I will be approaching the trucks GVWR. Buying a new truck isn't really an option for financial reasons.
So that got me thinking about how to lighten the camper. One idea I had was to replace the factory floor pack and build a composite floor pack using methods similar to Pods8 and homeskillet. What do people think these factory floor packs weigh? I estimate the materials cost would be between $150-200.

Thanks for any thoughts.
Jason

Don't know how much you'd save on weight when changing out the floor pack like mine but you'd definitely pick up insulation. Have you done an estimate on how much your floor currently weighs? Mine is about 1.5-1.6lb/ft^2, best case I see you maybe picking up a 50lb weight savings and it would be a fair amount of work too... Just trying to be realistic.