Northeast NV-Southern ID

Foy

Resident Geologist
Good morning from North Carolina,

I just got registered here at WTW and this is my first post.

I'm a CPA, mid 50s, with a background in geology (mineral exploration). In part due to my first degree, I have kept my feet wet in off-roading even though I haven't had to rely on my truck or navigational skills to earn a living in nearly 30 years. For the past two summers, the wife and I have joined a geology field school classmate and his wife for summer vacations in MT, ID, and UT, and we plan to do it again in July 2012.

What we're beginning to look at is a big loop with the start/finish in Elko, NV. We'll want to be in Elko for the 2012 Silver State Stampede rodeo, a slice of Americana you pretty much can't get anywhere else. We're pondering heading northeast up US 93 to Rogerson, ID, and from there travel on gravel/dirt to Jarbidge, NV, then to the Bruneau River canyon just west of Jarbidge, then to the vicinity of Mountain City, NV, over Maggie Summit, and then down the Independence Valley to Tuscarora. From Tuscarora we'd either go back to Elko or possibly farther west to Midas, re-joining pavement at Golconda, NV.

I run a well-equipped F350 SRW Crew Cab diesel, 2002 model with a simple shell cover. There'd be two couples and we're looking at booking rooms for a couple of nights in Jarbidge, tent camping on the Bruneau, and either rooms at Mountain City or tent camping in the Bull Runs or Independence Range.

I'd be most interested in any input on the following: