purchase FWC factory solar? Or?

BlueRidge

Advanced Member
I purchased a dealer demo Hawk (shell). I'm new to truck camping and solar systems. I have an 08 GMC 2500HD, gas engine.

I'll take the Hawk to the factory to add some options and I'm considering having them install the factory solar system - is their's a good system, and large enough for my needs?

I have the stove/furnace option, a fantastic fan, will have a top loading refrigerator, and will use my laptop computer for remote working (I have a 12v converter for the computer), and I'll use a 12v CPAP machine.

I will use the camper during winter months, and have read I need larger sized solar panel(s) for winter use than I would during the summer.

I'll mostly use the camper in the Pacific Northwest, should I also install a DC-DC charger like the CTEK D250S as a backup to solar for the cloudy Oregon and Washington State area? From what I've read, a stock truck alternator doesn't do a good job of charging the (dual) camper batteries.

Is the factory solar (160w?) system good enough for my needs, or are there better options?

Thanks for your help.

FWC has been installing Zamp. I have a 2014 Grandby with 2 batteries and 100w solar on the roof and rear plug for an additional panel. I purchase another 80w Zamp panel. The controller gives amps on the screen and so far I have had no problems. To each his own. There are a lot of guys who install everything themselvesw, including solar.

There have been a lot of posts with guys having problems, questioning the wiring used by FWC, etc.

I have plenty of power to run my CPAP machine and the 80L fridge. Even with cloudy and rainy weather in the Smoky Mountains I did a little driving and we were always good.

If it was me, I would have the factory install the panels and controller. Drilling holes in the roof and finding the wires isn't something I would risk doing myself. jd