Questions About Places to Avoid and Personal Safety

steelhead

I am a newbie to the forum and this is my first post so apologies if it is in the wrong discussion area. Also, I searched for similar topics but could not find any matches so apologies again if these topics have been discussed.

My wife and I are seriously considering joining the off road camping club this spring with the purchase of a Tacoma and a pop up from FWC or ATC. We have been backpacking for 30 years so never think too much about personal safety due to threats from others. Some friends think we are nuts for wanting to camp in places you can drive to because of the meth heads and other flavors of crazies that are out there. We are not gun people and that is not likely to change. So, in order to ease what feels like a growing concern, I thought it might be worth a post to see if there are places that should be avoided and tips for staying safe. We live in Oregon and plan to explore eastern Washington and Oregon, Nevada, the east side of the Sierra in California and the Four Corners.

Last callout is serious thanks to all of you who post here. This site contains a wealth of information for people like us who are just learning about off road camping.

Thanks!

steelhead

Welcome to WTW...and RELAX!
The cities and towns where people live are much, much, much, much more dangerous than the boonies are -- including the boonies you can drive to. I don't know what your friends concern is based on, but it's not rational...no offense.
I've driven all over southeast Oregon and northwest Nevada for decades and NOT ONCE have I had a scary human encounter.
I don't carry firearms either -- because they're not needed, not needed for protection against humans anyway.
RELAX and have a good time! :)

And remember: If you've read/heard a news story about "meth-crazed freak kills campers" that means it's a rare event. Rare events -- like school shootings -- are what "news" is based on.