"Stealth Camping" in the East with a Pop-Top?

LiveLifeNow

Advanced Member
This is a specialized question which may not be relevant to folks fortunate enough to live in the West, with all of its wide open spaces.

I live on the East Coast and am thinking of getting a pop-up. Here on the East Coast, RV and van dwellers sometimes lack a good camping spot while traveling through urban areas, resulting in "stealth camping" (parking overnight on the street in residential areas, hotel parking lots, etc.)

Raising the pop-top while stealth camping would draw a lot of unwelcome attention. Has anyone tried stealth camping with the pop-top in the down position? Is it possible to get a good night's sleep on the settee or even the floor with the top down? Is there sufficient ventilation in warm weather? I have a tent camping background, so this possibility sounds interesting.

Hope I am not annoying you guys with a flood of questions, but I am a newbie and was just introduced to the truck camper concept, and I am fascinated by all the possibilities.

Just a few days ago, I was thinking of buying a big Roadtrek RV. What a contrast!

I have the full sized roll over couch in my Hawk and I'm 6'3". No problem doing anything short of cooking with the top down. I can sleep without rolling over the couch into a double bed. Which can be done while remaining inside the camper, if I wanted a double. For ventilation I open up the turnbuckle doors and the roof vent with fantastic fan if further needed. You could also open the side windows a crack if needed, but I never do.

I've done it in my Alaskan. A good roof vent fan is vital. I just use my old backpacking mattress on the floor.
Some campers are usable when the top is down, some aren't. In my Alaskan I can get to all the storage and even use the toilet. I can't cook, but I can get to the fridge. Cold beer is also vital
Some campers are made so that you can't even get inside unless you pop the top. The large XPCamper is an example.