wind deflectors

Wind deflectors on the truck cab are reported to increase mpg and make the ride smoother. I see a few different companies make such deflectors and some folks make their own. I don't want to burden my tool savvy friends to build me one, they do so much for me already. I'd like to see some opinions from the folks on this forum: Which companies manufacture the best wind deflectors for truck campers? Some considerations: safety/stability, minimum hole drilling in truck/camper, and aesthetics. Cost too, I suppose, but I am always willing to pay for quality. Other opinions: Is anyone dead set against using wind deflectors and why?

Thank you.

Not sure if they save much gas, I have not done a long trip without the deflector to check. NOISE is the reason I have the deflector. Standard Hawk on a 1st generation Tundra has a large gap above the cab. This creates a lot of wind noise, goes away when I have the deflector on. I am not an Aeronautical Engineer, maybe one will chime in.

Without the deflector I have noticed the following:
  • More noise at a lower speed when over 90 degrees, could travel in winter without it,
  • Opening a window will lower the noise.
  • Putting the heater/ac on recirculate will lower the noise.
  • Neighbor down the street with the same truck as me, but with a window boot says he does not get wind noise.

If you search this forum you will find lots of threads on this topic.

Personally, I use the standard Yakima rack fairing on a single bar with locking posts. Safe, stable, no holes, not cheap, but quality. Less road noise and much less buffeting from the wind and passing large trucks. I thought it wouldn't be tall enough, but works very well and I'm happy with it.

Here is a pic of the back of mine, not sure who made it. I found it on the local craigslist for cheap. As others have said it is more about wind noise than mpg, I had really bad howling from about 40-60 mph before putting this up there and now it is quiet.