camper cover - any interest?

boatbuilder

As a boat builder I have boat covers built for my boats. I was walking by my FWC Eagle today looking at the "silver silk cover" (silver tarp) and thought, "why wouldn't I make covers out of the same material? The way it lays out with the fabric sizing the cover would have two lengthwise seams running full length and the sides would go down about 28" down the sides. I would put grommet in every 2' or so and corners. Looks like about 15 yards of fabric alone with sew time and grommet installation. My guess would be around $300 a piece for the Eagle. Other models wouldn't be all that much more as the sew time would be a little more as well as little more material. So, what's the interest level?

Jim

An affordable cover for my Grandby would be welcome.

Might want to pinch the length and width together at each corner and set a grommet through the triangular seam allowance. This will form a "shoe box" shape without any seams along the top of the tarp.

For a finished tarp size of 8' x 12' with 28" of drop:
Cut fabric to 156" x 204"
Mark 30" in from each corner. This will be (8) marks.
Fold under each edge 2".
Pinch each corner together at the 30" marks.
Cut/punch grommet hole back from the 30" mark by the diameter of the grommet or about 1". So grommet would be set at about 29" from the corner.

Example Cut Size:
096" (width) + (2 x 28" drop) + (2 x 2" hem) = 156" Cut Width.
144" (length) + (2 x 28" drop) + (2 x 2" hem) = 204" Cut Length.

Example Finished Size:
96" width x 144" length x 28" drop = Finished Size

Using a pre made tarp, it would be possible to use the factory grommets along two sides, but will take more figuring.

MDM54,