Chassis Cab "Showdown": RAM 3500 vs. F-350

Durango1

I posted this first on the expo site. (Those guys are some serious gear heads which I'm not!) However, this group is much more focused on the camping lifestyle Sioux and I do. So I value your observations:

OK, let's get this out right away. My wife says it is a sickness. I've got a great 4WD Ram 2500 crew cab with a 2015 FWC Hawk Flatbed that I've built out to perfection inside. We love it! Can I stop there? NO! (Sioux is right- I'm sick!)

So I've been reflecting on buying a regular cab (it is almost always just the two of us) Ford or Ram SRW Chassis Cab. Why on the Chassis Cab? They just make a flat bed build so much easier and allow a 34" wide X 6" high "shovel box" the full length of the bed. The standard gas tanks are much larger and the longer bed will easily fit a Flatbed Grandby. (Or other FB camper.) Whether Ford or Ram I'll go with the gas engine. (Our 2012 Ram only has 20K one owner miles!)

Folks, I'm no mechanic. My cursory research leads me away from Chevy with the IFS and last time I drove their standard gasser it felt anemic. So I'm in-between the Ram 3500 or the F-350 single rear wheel chassis cab. I like that the Ford can be optioned with a locking differential but then I have to admit that our Ram with the limited-slip differential has never been stuck nor has had any problems yet. (Only 20K miles though!)
smile.gif

I'd appreciate any thoughts on the pros and cons of the Ram vs. Ford and thanks in advance!

Steve

Sioux if definitely right, you are suffering from a sickness. I was recently diagnosed with the same disease.

The doc says I'm afflicted with PTWS.

Pagan Truck Worship Syndrome

The only known cure is massive infusion treatments of cash. :D