Happijac mounting system for a Hawk on a Tundra?

2thdr

Advanced Member
I read an older thread about stress cracks in a Tundra bed caused by the FWC factory install using eyebolts/washers here:

http://www.wanderthewest.com/forum/topic/6496-cracks-in-tundra-bed-at-turnbuckle-eye-bolts/?hl=happijac

I'm a noob about to pick up a new to me 2011 Hawk on my new 2017 Tundra. The previous owner has used the Hawk since new in his Ford F150 using the factory mounting set up with eyebolts through his pickup bed. I did some talking to a trailer/camper mechanic today where they sell Lance hard sided truck campers among other things. He profusely recommended the Happijac mounting system with the stabilizing bar set up. Maybe this is overkill (it is sure expensive at about $550 installed including turnbuckles), but since I am not proficient in cutting metal and such I am inclined to go this direction...

What is the wisdom here on this issue? Seems like relatively cheap insurance to avoid major damage to the truck bed. They just don't make trucks the way they used to, and the metal is so thin nowadays.

The thing with the Happijac and/or Torklift mounts is that they are external to the bed. It's possible that you could attach to the camper at the jack mounts, but they may be difficult to connect to the front Happijac tabs because of alignment and distance (may be very short). Also, be aware of the rear Happijac connections, I believe they just bolt to the bumper. Considering most are built from beer cans these days, there's not a lot of strength there.

My friend Terry had the "Torklift_Fast guns" turnbuckles on his Kestral(Hawk) 2013 Chev 1500. He had a local welding shop fabricate the pieces that were welded to the frame and the draw bars that extended out from the "pockets" to attach thje "Fast-guns" too, Saved him about $500 if I recall.