Kofa National Wildlife Refuge - January 2020

I have been visiting the KOFA NWR for many years and though the proliferation of snowbirds in their side by sides has changed the remote feeling of this wonderful place fortunately most of these people rarely get out of their vehicles.If you are willing to hike in you will most likely have the place all to yourself.And as the day goes on the dust machines leave for their Rvs parked in Yuma and Quartzite and you will have a quiet camp and maybe even see Bighorn Sheep on the mountain side if you are lucky.

Thanks for the report! I've enjoyed my trips to KofA and you've given me a couple new places to check out.

Really nice terrain with surprising amounts of seasonal water. Petros seem abundant too!
Nice macro photos, Ski.

Great report and wonderful photos.

I used to go out there regularly back in the mid to late '90's in my Toyota with popup camper to photograph bighorn sheep in the summer at Little White Tank. I never saw border patrol, good samaritans or anyone else. Of course I was the only one dumb enough to go out there in July and August. It is a beautiful place, though. Thanks for posting.

Cliff

Casa Escarlata Robles Too said:
Thanks Ski.
We always enjoy meeting and talking to visitors from other areas or countrys.
Sharing stories with people you meet on a travel is so mush fun.
Great pictures.
Frank
Thanks Frank, we appreciate your comment! Our new young rock art friend is sure a bundle of energy.

LAWNMOWERMAN said: