Need outfitting advise for new Hawk

crookedtail

Next month my husband will pick up our new Hawk (standard with 3-way fridge, furnace, screen door, jacks, aux battery & extended cab). From the factory in Woodland he'll continue onto Montana to spend 10 days in field training. By then the truck should have Firestone Ride Rites.

So here's the thing - we're total newbies to this luxurious form of travel (the futon in the back of the pickup used to seem like luxury). Since he won't be able to do a shake-down run before this big trip, does the gang have any advise for must-haves? He will not have a lot of free time - so it'll be hard to run to town to pick anything up.

He'll be fed at the field camp so kitchen needs are minimal. So we've planned for a stainless steel insulated coffee press, kitchen towel, paper towels, gray water bucket, folding stair step, hand broom, folding chair, possibly a roll up table. Other than bedding, what will he miss on this bare bones trip?

Hello Crookedtail and welcome to the forum. Congratulations on the new Hawk.

Actually, DD, that probably is important. His needs will depend on the type of camp and what it supplies. Some things that come to mind: toilet paper, bug repellant and sun screen, water purification filter or pills, a plastic bucket to do laundry (beats washing five day old underwear in the sink), etc.

How long will his first trip be away from whatever facilities his field training will include?

Since you mentioned the coffee press, I would add coffee, what ever he likes in it and a coffee cup (I'm not being a smart alec, but sometimes the obvious gets overlooked).

FWC can provide a full tank of propane, but you might want to arrange that ahead of time to ensure they have a full tank ready for him. They can also probably fill the water tank, but if not you might want to include some bottled water. Maybe a second cup to use for rinsing his tooth brush.

Get your TP from an RV supply store if it's going in a port-a-potty.