Revisiting the 1/2 ton vs. 3/4 ton question....

radarcontact

Hi all....I'm shown as a newbie here, but have actually owned my Hawk for 2 years now....just don't comment very much. I enjoy reading what others post more :) .

In any case, just wanted to talk a little about trucks. There have been some good threads on this site regarding the efficacy of 1/2 ton trucks vs. 3/4 ton and higher for pop-ups, particularly with the increased weight newer Four Wheel campers are experiencing. Mine is pretty loaded, and heavy, around 1500#. I have a 2014 Silverado 1500 Z71 with Ride Rite air bags, and it seems to handle the load pretty well, with the regular 4-ply tires, brakes fine, However, when we're dry, with me and my wife and gear (we don't take much) we're at or over GVWR by 100/200#, more if we go wet or pack more stuff. And, the truck does feel 'loaded', for lack of a better term...hard to define that, but you can feel the inertia/mass as you round a corner. Is it safe? I would say yes, but I'm not sure how the truck components will hold up with a big load, after a few years.

In any case, I've (painfully) opted to trade my 1/2 ton in for a 2500 Z71. I probably wouldn't have done it, except I got a very good deal from the dealer I bought my 1/2 ton from...he deals in sheer volume, and can get the price down pretty well. My trade-in was excellent, too, in terms of value given.