The long road to Big Bend National Park

DirtyDog

Captain Leisure
Site Team
I've finally been able to confirm with the powers that be that I will be able to head out in the direction of Big Bend National Park just after Thanksgiving. Plan to head straight south to near the border and stay as far south (and warm) as possible. Only stop in the plan so far is Organ Pipe NM. Suggestions appreciated!

Sounds great, DD!
How long do you plan to be "wandering"?

Though I love the Sonoran Desert, I'm not an expert on that far south -- not like others here.
However, I have camped at Organ Pipe twice, and I love it there! Have you been there before? Alamo Canyon is the campsite for folks like us -- "no motorhomes or trailers permitted". Earlier this year I sent an e-mail to the Park and asked "What about pickup campers at Alamo?". They said "Yes! Permitted!".
smile.gif

Have you been to Big Bend before? I've been once and loved it.

Most of this will be new to me. I haven't been to Big Bend, Organ Pipe, or most points in between. Looking forward to discovering new territory!

I'm confirmed for two weeks. Will probably try to stretch it out a bit. I hear there are a lot of breakdowns in that part of the world.