Tire pressure on dirt roads

travelingdan

Advanced Member
I blew out a tire recently (and I was only going 10-12 mph) on a dirt/loose rock road. I believe a pointed rock struck the tire's sidewall and the tire blew. I was running full inflate and was told that when driving on dirt/rocky roads I should deflate my tires. What would be a good psi to be running while driving on dirt/loose rock roads? Thanks.

That's a good question.
What is the weight of your vehicle-camper combo? As pointed out in this thread, there isn't one correct tire pressure that works for all rigs, so "weight" will affect the answer.

(but I'm no expert in this...)

Believe it or not, you actually have to keep a sharp lookout for those pointed rocks. No tire or pressure combination will save you if the right rock, at the right angle is in your path. Slow speed & lower pressure can help, however, your eye is a big deterrent and usually you can pick them out as you drive along even at moderate speeds.

Jon and Sue are right! I've spent most of both my working and play life driving on gravel roads and in the back country and nothing you do can stop that sharp rock from causing a flat; however, 10 ply tires and common sense driving improve your chances of a flat free trip! I always had two spare tires and a good air pump and tire repair kit for those "part of the job" flat tires that can and do happen. About the only time I ever worried about tire pressure was in sand where what your TP is makes a difference. If I worried about it on gravel or rocky roads, I would have spent my time inflating and deflating instead of dong my job-or having fun out there in the boonies. There have been lot's of threads on this site talking about being prepared and knowing what to do when problems happen out there and this is just another one of them-be prepared and enjoy yourself because things happen!

Smoke