Tire Vibration on Small Truck

Wandering Sagebrush

Free Range Human
Site Team
RV LIFE Pro
Any tire experts on the forum?

I have a 2007 Ford Ranger (4L, Extra Cab, Automatic) as my run around and exploration vehicle. In December, I put a set of E rated (10 ply) tires on it, replacing the original Goodyears. I went with Toyo Open Country ATs. At speeds below 60 miles per hour, the ride is a smooth as glass. Above that, I pick up a vibration and noise that isn't fun to listen too. I took it into the local Les Schwab dealer where I purchased, and they did a road force evaluation, and rebalanced. Not much difference in ride, so I went back in. One of their senior people took the truck for a ride, and said that yes he felt it, but when he discovered there were 10 plies, he was surprised at how smooth the ride was. His opinion was road shock.

OK, I am a novice when it comes to tires and how they ride. I went with 10 plies to keep from having a rock shoved through the tread or sidewall, like what happened on my F250.

Anyone have an opinion? I'd like to get the noise and vibration (which I feel through the seat) quieted down, but don't want to switch out of the 10 ply tires.

Steve what are the shocks ,front and rear like?
Maybe the tires are just too stiff for the truck.Did you try some weight in the bed?
A heavier truck might ride differently.
Good luck.
Oh I have always liked Les Schwab for their service,but we don't have any near to here.
Frank

My experience with a 2000 Ranger 4.0L, V6, extra cab, xlt, auto trans, 4x4 and larger than stock tires 30x10.5x15 all around...

First replaced all the original stock shocks with Rancho 5000's. Much better ride. A bit stiffer.
Shortly after that I experienced a growling sound from up front and a pretty good vibration above 60 mph.