Four Wheel vs Hallmark

backcountrydad

Howdy folks, I'm new to WTW but appreciate all the collective wisdom I've been reading in the various forums.

I'm looking to buy my first pop-up cab-over and am narrowing the search down to FWC and Hallmark. Seems easier to find used FWC's than Hallmarks (I could be wrong), and the thought of putting $20k+ on the table for a new Hallmark is a tough pill to swallow, even though the Hallmarks seem to be a bit better made and roomier inside.

So I'm posting to the FWC forum in hopes of receiving some input on why y'all chose an FWC over a Hallmark. For instance, the fact that the cab-over needs to be pulled out to form a Queen bed--even on the Grandby--seems suboptimal vs. the Hallmark EXC where the cab-over is already a full Queen--whether in the standard configuration or the North-South configuration. So what are the selling points of the FWC vs the Hallmark that convinced you to choose an FWC.

I don't mean to be inciting any riots. Just looking for some honest feedback to help with my buying decision.

Thanks in advance.

You'll most likely get a lot of opinions but my take it depends on what you are doing with the camper. If you plan on doing some off pavement exploring/camping/etc. the FWC or ATC is hard to beat. The key things I think you need to look at are the underlying structural components. Wood doesn't hold up well to the flexing that campers take over time.

I see a lot more FWC/ATC campers in the backcountry than I do Hallmark for what that's worth and for me, that's a sign of a quality camper. I've been to the ATC factory twice and seen the campers being made and the customer service they provide is unmatched and since I own an ATC camper, you can figure out what I decided on.

If you look at resale too, you can see FWC/ATC campers hold their value and sell quickly on the used camper market. That's because they are in high demand and hold up. Mine is about 15 years old and going strong.