Total Noobs, doing it all wrong

daverave

Hi Wanderers! Just joined WTW yesterday, here's our story....
My wife and I have been long-time outdoor enthusiasts based in California. Constant backpackers, mostly in the Sierra of course but even when we travel we arrange for at least a couple of backpacks. For example, just went to Scandinavia for a month this fall and did 5 days of backpacking (brrrr...) We also do our fair share of car camping out random dirt roads in the west. We've got a DV trip planned for the spring, love it there. All of the domestic trips were done in a Ford Explorer Sport, 2D, 4WD (we've had two) which we have several times lived out of for up to a month with a hotel stay now and then to get the stank off.

Our game plan/dream has always been to get an RV to live out of in our "golden" years and just last weekend we started getting serious about figuring it all out. We thought our perfect vehicle would be a Sportsmobile although the price is daunting. We went to a used RV lot and were surprised at the low quality for Class B/C rigs, then went to a big RV dealer and realized that didn't work for us either because whatever we are driving has to be pretty NIMBLE and off-pavement capable. Then we discovered that we live in a great place for pop-up camper shopping although we then also realized just how little we know. The language and gear and permutations of possible camper configurations are mind boggling.

So despite that we made a pilgrimage just up the road to FWC on Friday, went for a day hike in the burned out Cache Creek wilderness, then got a morning tour from Marty at ATC yesterday, then looked around the local CarMax in the afternoon. Short story short, today we bought a low-mileage, 2013 Ford F-150, extended (not Crew) cab, 4WD, 6.5 foot bed. There are not a lot of F-150s in that configuration available in the region. It's gotta work with something from FWC or ATC, amirite??