concerns with my 1/2 ton over payload capacity

mtnbiker99

i'm fairly new to the truck camper and been doing a lot of reading on payload and such. From what i gather, it would appear some are just below the payload capacity . Any 1/2 ton owners with slide in (FWC, alasken, scout, etc) running way over their capacity?

my setup:
2019 f150 platinum trim, diesel - payload as per sticker - 1300lbs
future camper + gear + bikes + passengers = 2500lbs (max)
GVWR - 7100lbs

i figure upgrading HD leaf springs, timbrem bumpstops, and E rated tires my help. Anything else?

aside from upgrading to 3/4 (currently exploring those options), am i still fighting a losing battle here if i keep my f150 and spend $5K (estimate) on upgrades?

thanks everyone!

mtnbiker99 welcome to the cult.
Your questions have been asked many times on the site.
There are it seems two camps. A lot of members have
1/2 ton trucks with FWC/ATC campers on them and minor
truck mods.Air bags,better springs,E rated tires.

Then there's the group that is the 3/4 ton side.Same mods mostly.
IMO it all comes down to your personal choice.

I personally have a 2002 Tundra TRD with a ATC Bobcat and rear air bags.
This combo fits my needs and I haven't had any issues.

You do have to keep in mind that what ever size truck you still have a load
on the truck and for the most part your handling/breaking will be different.

Continue to post your questions,there is a lot of great info posted on the site.
Frank

I'm beginning to learn the GVWR what matters the most. i'm going to get my truck weighed and see what the curb weight is. From there, i guess i can understand how much i can carry.

and i forgot about the tailgate. It's got that chrome trim and step option. That's a 100lbs there!

What Frank said, yes. I got rid of my tailgate -- was not hard to connect a new back up camera.

Hi Mtn. Welcome to the family.