I'm a noob (electrical)

DirtyDog

Captain Leisure
Site Team
On my last trip I stayed at an RV park and decided for the first time that I wanted to plugin and have some power to charge my laptop. I plugged the cable into the jack at the RV spot but had no power at the outlet in the camper.

Not even sure what to ask here - what could I possible have done wrong? I double checked that the fuse to my RV spot was on and it was.

Yeah my 99 goes like this: External source plug -> breaker box w/ 15a breaker -> GFCI plug on counter -> fridge plug in fridge cabinet.

Hey Dirty Dog

Here are a few things you can try ...

1. Make sure the campground outlet has power to it. Sometimes the power boxes at campgrounds have a small GFIC reset switch on them because the plug is outside in the elements all year. Check and reset if needed.

2. Plug your 30amp black camper cord into the campground 30amp outlet, or use the small adaptor, and plug the cord into the regular "house" type outlet the campground offers.

3. Make sure all of the circut breakers are "on" inside the camper fuse box (see picture below). The fuse box will be located on the lower / front of your kitchen cabinets.

4. Check and reset the GFCI on the plug that is installed on your camper kitchen cabinets (the 110/120V "house" type outlet). Im not sure what your 110/120v outlet looks like, but most of the new ones we are using these days have a very small "red light" on the front of the outlet that will light up if the plug has power coming in to it. This makes it easier to know if the plug is "live" with electricity.

5. If you have tried all of this, most likely the fuse on your power converter is blown for some reason. The 30amp power converter has 1 or 2 fuses on the bottom of it. They usually have the greem 30amp square automotive fuses in them. Once you change them out, you should be good to go.